IGC Organizational Structure

The primary decision-making body of the International Geodesign Collaboration is the IGC Council, comprised of the conveners of the IGC committees. The six committees and their conveners have autonomy and the responsibility to define and carry out the work of their committee and recommend actions for adoption by the IGC Council and the general membership of IGC as needed.

The Core Group comprises the initiators of IGC and key technical support to the organization. The Core Group continues to be centrally involved in the day-to-day operations of IGC.

IGC Advisers were instrumental in shaping IGC and continue to provide advice and guidance as needed.

IGC Council and Committees

Governance committee     Convener: John Wilson, University of Southern California

Implementation committee     Convener: Kristina Hill, University of California, Berkeley


Education committee     Convener: Richard Kingston University of Manchester


Communications committee     Convener: Jörg Rekittke, Norwegian University of Life Sciences

Conference committee     Convener: Miran Day, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo

Workflow committee     Convener: Allan Shearer, University of Texas, Austin

IGC Core Group

Project delineation:

  • Carl Steinitz, Alexander and Victoria Wiley Professor of Landscape Architecture and Planning, Emeritus, Harvard University Graduate School of Design, Honorary professor, Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis, University College London;

  • Brian Orland, University Distinguished Professor Emeritus, The Pennsylvania State University. Formerly Rado Family Foundation/UGAF Professor of Geodesign in the University of Georgia College of Environment+Design;

  • Thomas Fisher, Director, Minnesota Design Center, Dayton Hudson Chair in Urban Design, University of Minnesota College of Design.


Project technical support:

  • Ryan Perkl, Geodesign Evangelist, Esri.  Organizer, Geodesign Summit 2019 and IGC Workshop.

  • Michael Gould, Global Education Manager, Esri.

  • Hrishikesh Ballal, Managing Director, Geodesignhub.

IGC Advisers

  • Michael Batty, University College London, UK

  • Stephen Ervin, Harvard Graduate School of Design, USA

  • Michael Flaxman, Geodesigntech, Berkeley, CA, USA

  • Christina von Haaren, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany

  • Ana Clara Moura, Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil

  • Uri Avin, University of Maryland, College Park, USA

  • Allan Shearer, University of Texas Austin, USA

  • Stephen Sheppard, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada

  • William Miller, wrmdesign, Redlands, CA, USA

IGC LOGO_071018_bannerlogo_trans.png